Between the dried-stones walls

Even if the Clos des Lambrays is strictly delimited and enclosed by dried-stones walls, you never really achieve to make the tour… The Clos des Lambrays is one of the 33 Great Growths from Bourgogne, one of its most precious so-called “Climats”.

We invite you to discover and tour in the heart of Morey-Saint-Denis village. This will link you to its history and legacy. Take the time to walk on the the limestone paths along the walls. Down the slopes, close to the village well, a milestone recalls the foundation in 1365. Up the slopes, you reach the emblematic stonegate that leads way to the 202 “ouvrées” or pieces of land (8.66 hectares) owned by the Domaine. In the background, the line of the Alps mountains is sometimes sketched.

Let’s have a look at the ups and downs, the ripples of the slopes. The vine grows in a thin/ skinny limestone and clay soil. Year after year, it gives, according to the nuances of the vintage, an elegant Pinot noir that can age for decades.

 

Côte de Nuits high-place

Between Gevrey-Chambertin at the North and Chambolle-Musigny at the South, Morey-Saint-Denis is a discrete village and the heart of many Grands Crus. Clos des Lambrays, Bonnes-Mares, Clos Saint-Denis, Clos de la Roche, Clos de Tart. Among the Côte de Nuits, Morey-Saint-Denis is the village with the widest proportion of vines ranked as Grands Crus. Among them, the Clos des Lambrays benefits from a special location.

This growth is a high-place within Côte de Nuits. It is made of smooth slopes, with different sun exposures, where vines has been rooted and grown for 30, 50, 60 years, even more. The size, width and amplitude and the topographical diversity of these slopes give to Pinot noir an optimal and varied terroir to adapt to.

The Lambrays “Climat”

In Bourgogne “climat” and “lieux-dits” are not the same thing. With the Clos des Lambrays, we reach the essence of Bourgogne vine philosophy. Be ready to dive into that special and attaching culture with its own language and own code. This is the way to better taste it. Within the Clos, the “Climat” -this traditional terroir entity linked to a wine- melts three “lieux-dits” called Les Larrets, Les Bouchots & Le Meix-Rentier.

With its steep slope and poor soil, Les Larrets bring elegance and finesse to the Clos des Lambrays. Le Meix-Rentier is made of the down of the hill. Its soil is deeper. It is the backbone of the wine. Les Bouchots at the North, at the exit of the Morey Combe, are usually picked at the end of harvest. They enrich the final wine with new facets. Whoever the winemaker, whatever the style of winemaking, the character of the growth takes over.

 

Since 1365

The very first reference to « Clos des Lambrays » traces back to XIVth century. Some archives of Cîteaux Abbey testifies for its existence since 1365. An engraved milestone still witnesses of this foundation. Sold as “national good” by the end of the French Revolution, the Clos is extremely atomised at that time. Reading the archives and maps of the vines owned by the Domaine, we realise that the Clos des Lambrays story is due to the strong vision of the different owners during to the XIX and XXth centuries to recompose its integrity. As if, it were an ideal to achieve.

In 1936, when the first appellations d’origine are issued, the Clos des Lambrays is listed as a First Growth. Nevertheless, when experts refer to its wine, they rank among the Great Growths.

The modern consecration

The Rodiers’ resoluteness, followed by their descendants’, from the 1930s to the 1980s helped the Clos des Lambrays recover its legitimate Grand Cru status. History already recognised this status de facto to it. And wine lovers always credited it to it. In 1981 official and unofficial status finally converge and meet. It took almost half a century to the French National Institute in charge of Appellations d’Origine to hallow the Clos des Lambrays as the 33rd Grands Crus of Bourgogne.

Since 1979 the Clos des Lambrays is has been the object of deep passion as well as the subject of stroke of luck. The property has been enriched and magnified between the hands of Mr Louis and Fabien Saier along with Mr Rolland Pelletier de Chambure, then of the Freunds since 1996, to be finally acquired by LVMH Group in 2014.

Anthology -First half of the XXth Century


Anthology - 1960-1980 Today

Entre les murs
de pierres sèches

Même s’il est précisément délimité derrière ses murs, on n’en finit jamais de faire le tour du Clos des Lambrays. L’un des 33 Grands Crus de la Bourgogne. L’un de ses plus précieux Climats.

C’est à une promenade au cœur de Morey-Saint-Denis que nous vous invitons. Elle vous attachera à son histoire et son patrimoine. Prenez le temps de flâner sur les sentiers calcicoles qui longent les murs. En bas de la pente, à quelques pas du puits communal, une borne rappelle la fondation en 1365. En haut, vous atteignez l’emblématique portail de pierre qui donne accès aux 202 ouvrées de vigne (8,66 hectares) que possède le Domaine. En arrière-plan, la ligne de crête des Alpes se dessine parfois.

Contemplons les ondulations de la pente. Sur le maigre sol de calcaire et d’argiles, pousse la vigne qui donne année après année, avec les nuances du millésime, un vin de Pinot noir d’élégance, capable de traverser les décennies.

 

Haut-Lieu
de la Côte de Nuits

Entre Gevrey-Chambertin au Nord et Chambolle-Musigny au Sud, Morey-Saint-Denis cultive la discrétion et... les Grands Crus. Clos des Lambrays, Bonnes-Mares, Clos Saint-Denis, Clos de la Roche, Clos de Tart : Morey-Saint-Denis est le village de la Côte de Nuits avec l’une des plus grandes proportions de Grands Crus. Parmi eux, le Clos des Lambrays jouit d’une situation exceptionnelle.

Ce cru est bien un haut-lieu de la Côte de Nuits. Il est composé de douces croupes, aux orientations diverses, où s’enracinent les vignes depuis 30, 50, 60 ans, voire plus. Les amplitudes et les diversités topographiques des croupes offrent au Pinot noir un terrain d’adaptation idéal et varié. Notre viticulture éclairée s’efforce d’en révéler les infinies nuances pour créer un vin de garde.

Le Climat des Lambrays

Climats et Lieux-Dits ne se superposent pas. Avec le Clos des Lambrays, on touche à l’essence de la Bourgogne viticole. Il faut se plonger dans son univers si particulier et si attachant, avec son propre langage et sa codification, pour la goûter toujours mieux. Au sein du Clos, le Climat -cette entité traditionnelle de terrain liée à un vin- fond en un seul vin, trois lieux-dits Les Larrets, Les Bouchots & Le Meix-Rentier.

Les Larrets, avec leur forte pente de mi-coteau et leur sol pauvre, confèrent élégance et finesse au Clos des Lambrays. Le Meix-Rentier est le bas de côte plus profond, qui compose l’assise du vin. Les Bouchots au Nord en sortie de combe, sont traditionnellement vendangés au terme de la campagne et enrichissent de nouvelles facettes l’ensemble. Le caractère du cru prévaut sur les styles des vinificateurs successifs de manière spectaculaire.

 

Depuis 1365

La première mention du « Clos des Lambrays » remonte au XIVème siècle. Des archives de l’Abbaye de Cîteaux attestent de son existence dès 1365. Une borne gravée de cette date témoigne de cette fondation. A l’issue de la Révolution Française, le Clos est alors extrêmement morcelé. La lecture des archives et des cartes du cadastre viticole dont le domaine est en possession, fait apparaître l’histoire d’une inexorable volonté des propriétaires successifs aux XIXème et XXème siècles, de reconstituer l’intégrité du Clos médiéval, conçu comme un idéal à parachever.

Lorsque les premières appellations d’origine sont édictées en 1936, le Clos des Lambrays figure dans la catégorie des Premiers Crus. Pourtant les mentions de son vin dans les nomenclatures d’experts le classent au niveau des Grands Crus.

La consécration moderne

C’est la détermination des familles Joly et Rodier, et de leurs descendants, des années 1930 aux années 1980, qui a permis au Clos des Lambrays de recouvrer le rang légitime de Grand Cru que l’histoire lui avait reconnu de facto. Et que les amateurs lui avaient toujours accordé. En 1981 le statut officiel et le statut officieux coïncident enfin. Il aura fallu près d’un demi-siècle pour que l’Institut National des Appellations d’Origine consacre la position du Clos des Lambrays en tant que 33ème des Grands Crus de la Bourgogne.

Depuis 1979 les coups de cœur et du sort se succèdent. La propriété a été embellie entre les mains de Messieurs Louis et Fabien Saier et de Monsieur Rolland Pelletier de Chambure, puis de la famille Freund à partir de 1996, pour être enfin acquise en 2014 par le groupe LVMH.

Anthologie Première moitié du XXeme siècle


Anthologie - l’époque contemporaine